Lisa has a liquor license

Robb grew up in this little po-dink town in Wyoming.  It had it’s hayday several decades ago, and has been slowly declining ever since.  When we visited recently, the owner of the local Chinese restaurant was thrilled to have us visit his slightly overpriced establishment, because we were, quite literally, the only people in the joint.  But, just down the street, Lisa’s overpriced restaurant was hoppin’.  Robb says it’s because Lisa has a liquor license.

It must be true because the only other place in town that had more than 3 people in it was the bar.

Here I was thinking that we “city folk” (and by “city folk,” I mean boring suburbanites) were much more metropolitan than that.  But, going to a Saturday night movie with Robb, we noticed that the only place with more than 3 people (and frankly, the only place that wanted to stay open past 9:00 pm) was the place with the liquor license.

I guess alcohol is the great equalizer.  Maybe I should take up drinking, just so I can have some company on a Saturday night.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 09:06:45

    If you lived in the po-dunk town in wyoming I am sure you would have taken up drinking on saturday night by now…I think I’ll have a drink just thinking about it.

    Reply

  2. starvingbitch
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 08:17:43

    Further evidence that you don’t understand drinking. Suckers take far too long to ingest. Furthermore, I think liquor suckers would be tougher to eat than you think. Especially ones that would make the effort pay off.
    I’m making you drink a lot of grappa in Italy. I bet you’d be a hilarious drunk!

    Reply

  3. Dan
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 15:01:34

    I also realized today that the vanilla extract I have has a 30% alcohol content. If I had only realized that in high school..vanilla Dr. pepper might have been the new favorite!

    Reply

    • starvingbitch
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 15:10:29

      True story: I used to know a woman who would drink some rubbing alcohol when she didn’t have money for the liquor store. I think once it gets to that point, intervening is a lost cause.

      Reply

  4. Jen
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 09:56:25

    Rubbing alcohol seems like a rough drink. Wow! Of course, so does straight vanilla extract.
    And, yes, I probably would be hilarious drunk… just one of the many reasons I abstain. I am seriously afraid of the fool I would make of myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

