Jethro is Starving

I recently treated myself to a $2 Betta fish, which I affectionately named Jethro.  Jethro is male, and blue, with a long tail, and oh yeah… he’s stupid.

I know what you are thinking, that Betta fish are not known for their intelligence, so how would I know if this particular fish is any more or less intelligent than the others.  Here’s the thing: he won’t eat.  I have had him about four days now, and he has still not eaten a single piece of his Betta fish food.

The offspring have posited the theory that he is not yet used to his new home.  Bullcrap, says I.  Do you know what his memory span is?  3 seconds.  (It’s worse than that guy in 50 First Dates) He’s used to his home.

DH’s theory is that he is blowing bubbles, so he is happy.  He’ll eat when he wants to eat.  I reject this theory, too, mostly on grounds that it is not my own.

The forums say the glass bowl is too reflective, I don’t have enough hiding spaces, and I didn’t use a water conditioner.  All of these might be true, but why would a fish refuse to eat?  When the food is right there in front of him?  I think he doesn’t know it’s food.  He thinks it’s just flotsam.

On another note, last night I watched a tv show about a little girl with primordial dwarfism.  She is 2 years old and weighs less than my kids did at birth.  In addition to being tiny, (and adorable, by the way… she looks like a doll!) and developmentally delayed, she has also refused to eat.  She is currently surviving on whatever she can get through a tube.

I’m sensing a theme here.  It seems the worlds smallest creatures are just getting smaller through some stubborn form of anorexia which I, frankly, do not understand.  I have vowed to do my part to better understand this phenomenon by skipping some meals myself.  I will go without food until I get really hungry.  I figure I can make it clear until 10 am or so.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dacia
    May 11, 2011 @ 10:07:14

    I think Jethro is on a hunger strike. Not sure why though but my guess is he is either protesting Phil Jackson’s retirement or maybe he is a vegan Betta and the food isn’t up to his standards 😉

    Reply

  2. Jen
    May 11, 2011 @ 12:28:39

    I think you are right about the food. The forums tell me to use freeze dried blood worms or some such thing. Seriously? He is a $2 fish not a member of the family. I am NOT buying specialty Betta fish food.

    Maybe I need a good reason to go on a hunger strike!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

